New Releases
What's Going On
About Us
Contact Us

She & Him
Volume One

Those thinking the display of multi-talented Zooey Deschanel’s pipes in the 2003 film “Elf” was a one-off can breathe a sigh of relief. Apparently the modesty portrayed in the film in regards to her singing was actually genuine until M. Ward pried the secret home demos from her clutches! Volume One is more of a showcase of Deschanel’s wonderful diversity in styles than it is a collaboration with Ward (who also achieves crisp production as well). She flawlessly bounces from ballads (the opening string and piano-laden "Sentimental Heart") to pop (the ‘50s girl group romp of "Sweet Darlin") to country (the galloping pedal steel of "Got Me" and the countrified duet version of the Beatles’ "I Should Have Known Better" with M. Ward) seemingly without effort. She is Zooey Deschanel and He is M. Ward and Volume One is worth seeking out--it’s worthy of the praise that her retro contemporaries Amy Winehouse and Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings are getting!

» Buy Volume One Now!

Go Back

Wednesday, August 20, 2014 All Contents Copyright © 2014 Stinkweeds Music