New Releases
What's Going On
About Us
Contact Us

Wye Oak
If Children

Hard to believe Baltimore’s Wye Oak consists of only two members in Andy Stack and Jenn Wasner. In light of this, I wouldn’t change a thing! Think of a much more sonically-charged edition of Beach House and you would be on the right path. Stack’s vocals placate the hushed folk acoustic, harmonica, and cymbal-strewn, “Regret” like a Paul Simon delicacy. “Please Concrete” is buoyed by Wasner’s vocals amongst the picked electric guitar before being pounded by a blinding blast of shoegaze fury before again quickly settling down and melding beautifully into a frantic “Warning.” Feedback abounds against hurried drums while Wasner’s vocals supply warm reassurance that all is well. Originally released sometime in 2007 on Morphius and thankfully re-released by Merge, If Children jumps to the top of the year-end-faves list in my book. Handsomely unassuming, refreshingly innocent and achingly gorgeous, Wye Oak have certainly raised the bar on what indie-rock and folk should sound like. Buy it and rejoice!


» Buy If Children Now!

Go Back

Thursday, July 24, 2014 All Contents Copyright © 2014 Stinkweeds Music